I don’t Care About the GOPe or the GOP

This morning someone told me I was dumb for thinking a vote for Cruz was not a vote for the Republican “Establishment”.

I could not care less about the GOP Establishment, or the GOP at all.

The Republican Party is a vehicle for candidates that hold my conservative views. Period. If it stops being an effective vehicle I will look for candidates that hold those views elsewhere.

People, myself included, are annoyed with the GOP and the “establishment” for foisting candidates upon us that are actually not conservative. They do not work toward limited government, but instead are a part of the Washington system that doesn’t actually accomplish anything conservative. At best the establishment slows down the march of progressive left political will.

What exactly is the GOPe? It’s this nebulous group of people that provide leadership to the GOP. It’s not a defined group, it’s just a useful generalization. People aren’t actually members. But if you are in leadership in the Republican party and you think Romney and McCain were good candidates, you probably are a member of the establishment.

I don’t care about the GOPe. Look, I voted for McCain and Romney. I have accepted establishment Republican candidates as the lesser of two evils at the voting booth for a long time now. But the GOP or the GOPe mean very little to me. I wanted conservatives to have a new party back when Romney was running. I hoped the Tea Party would become that political party, but it got sucked into the GOP. Political parties in general, mean little to me. They are just a mechanism to vote for candidates that I like, or at least dislike less than others. I do not like the 2 party system we have. But since we have it, I participate as best I can. I vote for the candidate that will do the least harm and might lead us back toward more limited government.

This election cycle, the frustration over the GOPe has boiled over. Now people want a candidate that isn’t a part of it. Although he was very liberal before, and admits to being a part of the establishment until he decided to run for office, Donald Trump has emerged at the poster child for anti-establishment voters. Now, like this morning, when any who is annoyed with the GOP says they plan to vote for anyone else, the Trumpkins lash out. How stupid can we be? Don’t we know that every other candidate is part of the GOPe?

What they are saying is that I (a conservative) should only vote for a blow hard, blustering buffoon who cannot articulate even simple policy positions in most cases, and who when he does actually state a position clearly he flips on it within 24 hours, who thinks insults are the way to defeat his opponents, who has a history of supporting liberal Democrats and leftist positions, who admits he personally takes advantage of laws that are bad for the USA, who literally holds positions based on poll numbers, who has promised to open up libel laws so he can sue people who criticize him, who has promised to expand laws so that he can order the US Military to kill women and children who are related to terrorists, who embodies values and behavior that I would never want in any elected official much less the President of the USA… I should vote for him because he is the only candidate who is not controlled by the GOPe.

I don’t care who is or isn’t a GOPe favorite.

I will never vote for Donald Trump for any elected office, Ever. I will never vote for Hillary Clinton, either. Before you say a vote for someone else is a vote for Clinton, let me stop you. It’s not. It’s a vote for someone else. If enough people vote for someone else, that person gets elected. If Clinton does get elected, which she undoubtedly would in a general election versus Trump, at least then we know what we are going to get. She is a known factor. A bad one, but we know her. We don’t know Trump. He has changed his views so often I can’t be sure he has any core values… except to do things that benefit him and post crazy stuff on twitter.

So, no. I won’t vote for Trump. I will vote for the candidate that will do the least harm. If that is a GOPe candidate, fine. If that is someone else, fine. I will not vote for Trump to stop the GOPe because I don’t care about them. If the GOP puts up Trump as the nominee, I won’t vote GOP in the election. And I won’t consider myself a part of the GOP until such time as it dies off and is replaced, or comes to its senses and started nominating conservatives again.

There are rumblings about the GOPe conspiring to steal the nomination from Donald Trump at the Republican convention. The rules are pretty clear. If no candidate has the needed number of delegates prior to the convention, during the gathering they will do multiple delegate votes until a nominee is selected. If Trump has the most delegates, but not enough to secure the nomination, some fear that this will shatter the Republican party if he is not the nominee. Assuming the rules are followed, the candidates enter this process knowing that this could be the outcome. I’m not a fan of ignoring the votes of individuals in a brokered convention. I’d rather see voters select a conservative candidate before the convention. But if the GOP comes out of the convention with Trump as the nominee, no matter how that happens, I won’t be joining them in support of Trump.

I don’t want to save the GOP. I don’t care if the GOP splinters. I don’t care if a new party rises from the ashes of the GOP. I will vote for the candidate that is most likely to return us to a limited government. One who is actually a conservative, and will do the least harm to our nation. I will not place party over principle.

Leave a Reply

