Why Do I Care About Trump?

Prior to this election, I never cared much about the presidential primaries. I always figured whoever made it to the general election would be fine. I mean, I voted, but I didn’t write a lot or try to sway anyone’s opinion about one of the primary candidates. But I’ve been a lot more involved in this cycle.

Mainly because I want to see Donald Trump as a business man and TV personality, not as a President, or even just as an unelectable presidential candidate in the general election. I’m not campaigning for anyone, but against Donald Trump. I will use what little influence I have to try to stop Republicans from selecting him as the nominee for the general election.

I know the world will keep spinning no matter who is elected. Most of my day to day life will not be effected by the president. I will still have to pay taxes, and deal with the healthcare issues. I don’t think my small town is much of a target for terrorists. I will have to put up with the economic policies of who ever is elected, but in many ways that is mitigated by Congress. Like all Americans, local and state election affect the details of life most. But the big things are affected by Federal elections. They matter.

Once we get past Super Tuesday, if Trump wins every state, I will stop. It will be inevitable. He will be the Republican nominee.

A few folks on twitter and elsewhere have chided people about not supporting Trump if he is the nominee. They feel that we must support him if he is the nominee. That’s placing party over principle. I won’t do it. I will never vote for Hillary Clinton, Bernie Sanders or Donald Trump. Period. Full stop, as they say.

If I can somehow influence people to not select Trump as the Republican nominee, then I will. If he wins the nomination anyway, I will look to 3rd party candidates.

Maybe of Trump does win the primaries, a real alternative to the Republicans will rise up?

Leave a Reply

